Home > Events > Revisiting PRISM’s 50th Anniversary Issue

PRISM 50th Anniversary Issue CoverLast month—in preparation for PRISM’s participation at the Griffin Vancouver event—I pulled out PRISM’s 50th Anniversary Issue.

The nominees for the 2012 Griffin Poetry Prize had been announced and PRISM had been asked to attend the Vancouver celebration, which would include a live stream of the Toronto award ceremony.

We were thrilled to find that our 50th Anniversary Issue not only featured Seamus Heaney, who was to receive the Griffin Trust for Excellence In Poetry Lifetime Recognition Award, but also two nominees for the Canadian award. Jan Zwicky was shortlisted for Forge and Ken Babstock for Methodist Hatchet.

PRISM wishes to congratulate Ken Babstock on winning the Griffin Poetry Prize, which at $65,000 is regarded as “the world’s largest prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in, or translated into English.” Watch a brief clip of his lovely acceptance speech here.

If you don’t already have a copy of our 50th Anniversary Issue, you can order it online. Enjoy peotry by Seamus Heaney, Ken Babstock, and Jan Zwicky, as well poetry, fiction, and non-fiction by a few more authors you might recognize:

  • Anna Akhmatova
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Li Bai
  • Stephanie Bolster
  • Jorge Luis Borges
  • Roo Borson
  • Italo Calvino
  • Raymond Carver
  • Lorna Crozier
  • Bill Gaston
  • Ted Hughes
  • Mark Anthony Jarman
  • Thomas King
  • Robert Kroetsch
  • Patrick Lane
  • Irving Layton
  • Kim Maltman
  • Don McKay
  • George McWhirter
  • Lisa Moore
  • Erin Mouré
  • Alden Nowlan
  • Michael Ondaatje
  • P.K. Page
  • Al Purdy
  • Matt Rader
  • Leon Rooke
  • Carol Shields
  • Sue Sinclair
  • Wislawa Szymborska
  • Bronwen Wallace